My life, stories and shenanigans from Japan

Communicating


Ok. Something keeps happening to me and I just wanted to point it out.

So.  I frequently email my friends at school using my cellphone, in Japanese, and I generally tend to get emails back in English, with Japanese inserted where they don’t know how to say the things in English. 

The emails I get are always something like this:

HI COLIN. HOW ARE YOU? 二兎を追う者は一兎をも得ず。BYE

I mean, really.  What?  I know they’re trying to be nice, but why is it that only the things I certainly don’t know always appears in Japanese and the things I can gladly say I’ve learned after four and a half months always appears in English?

I mean, chances are, I do it to.  I’ve heard myself a many a time say something like その猫はVERY CHUNKYです.

It’s just, in the end, very ironic.

The example sentences, by the way, have never appeared in actually conversation.  (The first one, being a Japanese proverb, says “One who chases after two hares won’t catch even one.” (I used Wikipedia), the second being “That cat is very chunky”)

Comments on: "Communicating" (2)

  1. I KNOW! I usually get so annoyed when they say “somethingsomethingsomething友達something” and I go like “え?” and they say “friend!”. Yeah, I understood THAT, it was the other part I was wondering about! Jesus…

  2. I KNOW. I KNOW I KNOW I KNOW.

    It’s like, “Jessica! fjewjfkewrhgjjhegjehg Ima kara soujishimashyouuuu! djfghweghjjegh!!”

    “.. What?”

    “Let’s cleaning!”

    ..

    I think I understood that. Just not the rapidfire Japanese you said before, and after that.

    And what’s with Japanese people and putting -ing after every word possible?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

