My life, stories and shenanigans from Japan

Big. Insects.


At the Gundam exhibit, there was a bug house.  (I want to say Hercules Beetle?)

I don’t particularily like bugs.

CA3C0121 CA3C0120

The sign applied to a big plastic beetle. 

CA3C0123

This is how the conversation between me and the bug hut man went (in Japanese):

Man: Do you want to the hold the [large] bug [I was looking at]?

Me: No thank you

Man: There you go! (Puts bug on my hand)

Me: …er…

Man: This bug is very dangerous! (chuckles)

CA3C0122

Oh and these bugs were walking around on the netted ceiling of the bug hut.  The hut intended to fit a Japanese person.  I was terrified one of them was going to fall down on myself.

Comments on: "Big. Insects." (3)

  1. Peter Thompson said:

    “The hut intended to fit a Japanese person. I was terrified one of them was going to fall down on myself.”
    Funniest thing I’ve read these last few days. xDDD

  2. I just found this page at random searching for this big (which popped up in an episode of “The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya) and nearly peed at your great bit of dialogue. “This bug is very dangerous!” Hahaha.

  3. I CAME ACROSS YOUR WEBSITE WHILE LOOKING UP PICTURES OF “BIG BUGS”. THERE IS SOMETHING SO BEAUTIFUL ABOUT THEM. WERE YOU HORRIFIED TO HAVE THIS CREATURE CRAWLING ON YOUR HAND? I WOULD HAVE BEEN!!!
    BY THE WAY, DON’T BE AFRAID TO USE THE PRONOUN “ME” ESPECIALLY WHEN IT IS THE OBJECT OF A PREPOSITION…A PREPOSITION SUCH AS “ON”. “…GOING TO FALL DOWN ON MYSELF.” CHANGE TO “…FALL DOWN ON ME.” I THINK EVERY GREAT ADVENTURE DESERVES THE BEST LANGUAGE! GOOD LUCK TO YOU, ALWAYS!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

