My life, stories and shenanigans from Japan

Oh my.


Today, in English class, one of the class discussion questions was “What  would you say is cool and not cool in Japan”, in order to exercise the word “cool”.  It provided some very…er. sad. results. There are a few things people said:

Things that are cool:

  • Akihabara (the electric town)
  • Maid Cafes (one of the sadder experiences of my life)
  • Wii
  • Television
  • 80s music
  • Video games

Things that aren’t cool:

  • Outdoors
  • Rap Music
  • traveling to foreign countries (they claimed it wasn’t cool to get sick with swine flu)

—–

My calligraphy class.  You can just see everyone is feeling the rush of drawing Chinese characters in an artistic fashion: DVC00078

I feel like it is my duty to note, though, that this was in fact the break between the two periods.

Comments on: "Oh my." (6)

  1. Janet Ha said:

    Hilarious. Love the photo. Thanks Colin!

  2. What is everyones obsession with Akihabara? A teacher asked me where I want to go when we visit Tokyo as part of our school trip and my homeroom teacher butts in and goes he probably wants to go to Akihabara. Say what? I was thinking more Harajuku and Shibuya.

  3. Whats wrong with rap music!!!??? Hip hop is so cool!

  4. The little indoor market at Akiba where there are tons of stall selling components is quite interesting. The rest of the place is just a bunch of big stores much like you can find in Shinjuku. Then there are maid cafes.

  5. omg i love your calligraphy class :D

  6. traveling is bad?

    …oh my, is quite correct

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

