My life, stories and shenanigans from Japan


First off, I must say that I really poorly named this post.  I couldn’t think of something to name it so I just kind of went with “generic”.

Well, I felt sort of bad due to the fact I hadn’t posted in a while since nothing has really been happening of late (still no family) so I thought I’d just kind of give an update on what’s I’ve been up to related to Japan.

Well, I’ve begun work on a sort of small-documentary.  I’m still in the planning stage, but the video will revolve around my life as an American kid-boy thing.  I’ve begun to film/will film my life, from waking up to going to bed (Not in real time- Whole video will only be a few minutes).  I know. Sounds pretty exciting.

But really, I’m going to Japan with a bunch of non-americans who don’t know what it’s like to be an american, and if I’m going to be making video blogs and such where I’ll most likely make references to my american life, it’s always helpful to have something to compare to.  Plus, it’s a pretty interesting thing to just kind of show them.

Oh, and I guess I’ll be in Japan.  Which isn’t America.  So I can always show people I meet in Japan (students, family, etc. ).  I just need to subtitle it.

I’m even going to bring my camera to school and take some videos there. Nifty.

Well, That’s all I can think of to say.

Comments on: "Turned Boredome Into Productivity" (4)

  1. Okay, so I found your blog like 5 minutes ago and am already spamming it. It must be your lucky day! ^o^

    But to introduce myself again, I’m a new reader to your blog and I really look forward to reading this blog. I always love hearing first hand experiences in Japan, especially when they’re written fresh in the moment. It seems as though people tend to generalize and get all “philosophical” if they write about the experience much later on.

    I say this because I tend to do this myself. >_< But I’m really looking forward to reading this! :D The small-documentaries sound like an AWESOMESAUCE idea! Feel free to post some before you even go to Japan, too! Your experiences shall help me in ways you don’t even know, my friend. x3 <– Okay, just trying to sound dramatic there, please bear with me.

    If I might ask a few questions…

    What program are you going under and where will you be going to school at? Is this an exchange program or possibly an intensive course in Japanese or something? How long have you had an interest in Japan? What’s your social security number? (Darn. I was hoping to get you on that last one. xD Just kidding, of course.)

    Until then, take good care of yourself and good luck in all of your endeavors. So long!

  2. Ah hello Miz

    It’s nice to know there are people out there who are interested in what I have to say. And yes, I shall be posting the documentaries before I leave as well as when I do leave. I’m going for a year with a program called “Youth for Understanding” (Link is to right of page), and it’ll be an exchange program (And thus, I’ll be living with a Japanese family and going to a Japanese school). I don’t yet know where I’ll be living or what my school or family is like, though. I’ve been interested in Japan for really as long as I can remember, since I was young, at least.

    Thanks for all your kind words, and feel free to just ask if anything else comes to mind you’re wondering about.

  3. risaijapan said:

    Colin! The YFU’ers here are getting families ._.! You’ll probably get yours soon too. I still haven’t gotten mine, and the way the text in the comment-field is so small freaks me out. There’s a cat on the desk! I just realized that I’m randomly spamming your blog with nonsense. Forgive me. :D

  4. Lisa: I do that too! *spamz*

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

